Halsey Hall Chapter - SABR
| About the Chapter | Officers and History | By-Laws and Procedures | Who Was Halsey Hall?
| Chapter Events | Membership | Publications | Book Club | Awards | Research Projects | Video Archives | Regional Links | Home

Home > Chapter Publications > Holy Cow! Newsletter >

Halsey Hall Chapter
Society for American Baseball Research

Chapter and Member Awards from SABR

MVP Award (first awarded by SABR in 2023)

Halsey Hall Chapter, 2023 (first SABR chapter to achieve MVP status)

Bob Davids Award

Stew Thornley, 2016

Dan Levitt, 2015

Henry Chadwick Award

Mike Haupert, 2020

Dan Levitt, 2017

Seymour Medal

Dan Levitt with Mark Armour, Intentional Balk: Baseball’s Thin Line between Innovation and Cheating, 2023

Tom Swift, Chief Bender’s Burden: The Silent Struggle of a Baseball Star, 2009

Doug Pappas Award (formerly the USA Today Sports Weekly Award) for the best research presentation at the SABR convention

Mike Haupert, William Hulbert and the Birth of the Business of Professional Baseball, 2014

Stew Thornley, The Polo Grounds: A Tale of Four Stadiums, 1998

McFarland-SABR Baseball Research Award (formerly the Macmillan-SABR Baseball Research Award)

David Laliberte, Myth, History and Indian Baseball: An Unexpected Story of the Game in Minnesota, 2009

Stew Thornley, On to Nicollet, a team profile of the Minneapolis Millers, 1988

SABR Baseball Research Award (formerly The Sporting News-SABR Baseball Research Award)

Steve Bratkovich, The Baseball Bat: From Trees to the Major Leagues, 19th Century to Today, 2021

Steve Hoffbeck, Swinging for the Fences: Black Baseball in Minnesota, 2006

Dan Levitt with Mark Armour, Paths to Glory: How Great Baseball Teams Got That Way, 2004

Jack Kavanagh Memorial Youth Baseball Research Award

Emma Charlesworth-Seiler, Invisible Barriers: Why Baseball Isn’t America’s National Pastime, 2015

Larry Ritter Book Award (Deadball)

Dan Levitt, The Battle That Forged Modern Baseball: The Federal League Challenge and Its Legacy, 2013

Go to Top